Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) team squad for IPL 2018: Final list of players after auction


Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) were the most calculative franchise during 2018 IPL auctions. However, they have picked some young guns who will be tested in this edition. But they do have some star and experienced players who can balance it out for the youngsters. KKR have already retained Sunil Narine and Andre Russell during player retention event. However, they failed to keep Gautam Gambhir in the side and let him go to his home team Delhi Daredevils (DD).

Through RTM, KKR retained their swashbuckling batsman Robin Uthappa. They also retained their spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Piyush Chawla. But their biggest buy this season has been Chris Lynn and Mitchell Starc for INR 9.6 and 9.4 crores respectively. They have also a handy wicketkeeper in the form of Dinesh Karthik who was bought for whopping INR 7.4 crores. There are some notable India U-19 players who have made the cut to IPL as well – Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shubhman Gill and Shivam Mavi to boost their batting as well as bowling line-up.

This is what KKR’s squad looks like after the auction:

Kolkata Knight Riders squad IPL 2018
Players Type Country Sold Price
Sunil Narine All-rounder West Indies 12.5 cr
Chris Lynn Batsman Australia 9.6 cr
Mitchell Starc Bowler Australia 9.4 cr
Andre Russell All-rounder West Indies 8.5 cr
Dinesh Karthik Wicketkeeper India 7.4 cr
Robin Uthappa Batsman & Wicketkeeper India 6.4 cr
Kuldeep Yadav Bowler India 5.8 cr
Piyush Chawla Bowler India 4.2 cr
Nitish Rana Batsman India 3.4 cr
Kamlesh Nagarkoti Bowler India 3.2 cr
Shivam Mavi Bowler India 3 cr
Mitchell Johnson Bowler Australia 2 cr
Shubhman Gill Batsman India 1.8 cr
Vinay Kumar Bowler India 1 cr
Rinku Singh Batsman India 80 lakhs
Javon Searless All-rounder West Indies 30 lakhs
Cameron Delport All-rounder South Africa 30 lakhs
Apoorv Wankhade Batsman India 20 lakhs
Ishank Jaggi Batsman India 20 lakhs

Nitish Rana who delivered Mumbai Indians (MI) some match-winning games in the last season was also bought by KKR. Mitchell Johnson would be spear heading the pace attack who was bought for base price INR 2 crores after going unsold in the first round.

KKR have won two IPL titles previously. They made it to the playoffs thrice that included the previous edition. Can this mixture of young and experienced bunch hand KKR their third title? Most importantly, who will don the captaincy hat?

एक उत्तर दें

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  बदले )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  बदले )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  बदले )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  बदले )

Connecting to %s