Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) team squad for IPL 2018: Final list of players after auction


The 2018 IPL auction are finally done and dusted. Some teams have made smart picks while some have problem of aplenty. However, Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) were on shopping spree. However, they were denied some best buys as the remaining franchises used RTM. Yet, they brought some big players on board, basically power hitters. The highest bid player in their side was KL Rahul. From Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Rahul will now be seen playing for KXIP. He was brought for INR 11 crores. He was the first Indian highest bid player in the 2018 auctions until Jaydev Unadkat made an entry.

Their second best buy was Ravichandran Ashwin for INR for 7.6 crores that left many Chennai Super Kings (CSK) fans disheartened. Following him was T20 hat-trick specialist, Andrew Tye. His auction was also timely as he scalped five wickets in the final ODI against England on Sunday. It was followed by Marcus Stoinis (RTM) and Aaron Finch who were sold for INR 6.2 crores. They also have the young Afghanistan spinner in their bowling armoury in the form of Mujeeb Zadran who was sold for INR 4 crores.

Here is how KXIP squad looks like after the auctions:

Kings XI Punjab Squad
Players Type Country Sold Price
Akshar Patel All-rounder India 12.5 cr
KL RAHUL Batsman India 11 cr
Ravichandran Ashwin All-rounder India 7.6 cr
Andrew Tye Bowler Australia 7.2 cr
MARCUS STOINIS All-rounder Australia 6.2 cr
Aaron Finch Batsman Australia 6.2 cr
Karun Nair Batsman India 5.6 cr
MUJEEB ZADRAN Bowler Afghanistan 4 cr
David Miller Batsman South Africa 3 cr
ANKIT RAJPOOT Bowler India 3 cr
Mohit Sharma Bowler India 2.4 cr
Barinder Sran Bowler India 2.2 cr
YUVRAJ SINGH All-rounder India 2 cr
Chris Gayle Batsman India 2 cr
Ben Dwarshuis Bowler Australia 1.4 cr
Mayank Agarwal Batsman India 1 cr
Manoj Tiwary Batsman India 1 cr
Akshdeep Nath Bowler India 1 cr
Manzoor Dar Bowler India 20 lakhs
PRADEEP SAHU Bowler India 20 lakhs
Mayank Dagar All-rounder India 20 lakhs

However, KXIP got the big fish towards the end of the auctions – Chris Gayle. He went unsold twice during the auctions and in the third round was finally picked by KXIP for his base price. They also picked out of favour Yuvraj Singh for his base price. He has represented KXIP from 2008 to 2010. Meanwhile, KXIP were also slammed by Twitterati for not RTM Sandeep Sharma over Mohit Sharma, who was RTM. Sandeep had scalped 17 wickets from 13 matches last year at 23.41 and has been a match saviour for them in several matches. Mohit, on the other hand, took 13 wickets from 14 matches at 31.53.

Apart from these big names, KXIP have also picked some uncapped spinners who could be used as cover at the need of hour. However, it will be interesting to see who will they opt as a wicketkeeper and captain.

With this bunch of young and experienced players, can they reach the final stage like 2014?

एक उत्तर दें

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  बदले )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  बदले )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  बदले )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  बदले )

Connecting to %s